My Take on Polytechnic Education

It’s Wednesday, June 11, and I’m well into the first week of my term break from Ngee Ann Polytechnic. I won’t say that I’ve learnt a lot in the first eight weeks there, but I think I’ve learnt a good bit already.

To be perfectly honest, when I first heard about Ngee Ann Polytechnic and chose to go there, I wasn’t sure of what I could or should expect. I didn’t believe that, in the course I was going to, I could experience working hard and playing hard.

I was wrong, I guess. The fact that I’ve survived the first eight weeks there means that I could probably survive another two and a half years there, and enjoy my stay as a student. The past eight weeks have been a little messy because I was still a little…bewildered, I think, by how loose polytechnic life is, after spending ten years in a world filled with rigidity. In addition, I shifted house on June 2, so there was quite a bit of stuff going on while I was attempting to complete my assignments before their stipulated deadlines. I hope it gets better as time goes on.

I had a hunch, you know, when I visited NP for the second time in my life. As I got down at the bus-stop outside the polytechnic back then, I had this feeling that, despite it being built on a hill, and despite the reputation of its media diplomas, I might actually have fun at NP. And it seems that my hunch was right. Granted, everything I did was accounted for, and I had quite a lot of term assignments, but I truly enjoyed my first eight weeks at NP, and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Just thinking about it makes me feel very happy.

Leave a Reply

